International Conference on Astrophysics and Cosmology,Nepal

ICAC 2012, Kathmandu Nepal


The first International Conference on Astrophysics and Cosmology (ICAC) was organized at CEDA hall, Tribhuvan University, Nepal during March 19-21. The event has its imprints in the young mind to develop our nation through Astrophysical and Cosmological research. ICAC 2012 was a wonderful occasion to communicate with the experts, researchers and students in the field of Astrophysics and Cosmology. The total number of participants was 125 including 42 international (non-nepalese) participants. There were 3 invited talks, 10 special talks and 46 contributory talks. In addition, 27 posters were displayed in the conference.

ICAC 2012 is completed with the following recommendations:

1. The country should facilitate sufficient infrastructure to carry out research in the field of A&A.

2. Research collaboration is essential to address the unsolved issues in the field of Astrophysical and Cosmological research.

3. Exchange visit program, workshops, seminars, etc should be materialized for young graduates.

ICAC 2012 is inaugurated by the Registrar of Tribhuvan University Dr. Chandra Mani Paudel in an auspicious gathering at CEDA hall, Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur on 19 March 2012 at 8:30 AM. The head of the department of Central Department of Physics, Tribhuvan University, and Prof. Lok Narayan Jha welcomed international and national participants. Forty two international participants attended opening ceremony. Invited speaker Prof. Sandip Kumar Chakrabarti (SNBose, India) and Prof. Jonathan Granot (University of Hertfordshire, Hatfield, UK) addressed the welcome ceremony. They stressed on the importance of research work in the development of the nation. The Opening ceremony was joined by with Registrar of Kathmandu University, Member Secretary of UGC Nepal, President of Nepal Physical Society and Dean of Institute of Science & Technology, TU.

The closing ceremony was held on 21 March evening.  The Vice Chancellor of Tribhuvan University Prof. Hira Bahadur Maharjan was the chief guest in the closing ceremony. Prof. Maharjan awarded best poster award to Ms. Sonali Sachdeva (Delhi University, India) and Mr. Ram Prasad Adhikari (co author: Mr. Milan Budhathoki) of Golden Gate International College, Nepal in the international and national category, respectively.